Eclipse: improve html formatting

When format html file in eclipse, some tags such as input, td, th ... will be put on one line and break line at middle of tag when it reach to max character of one line, make it hard to read.

It's becasue of these tags is inline, and eclipse format all side by side inline tags in to one line.

To fix this, just remove these tags from inline list at: Window -> Preferences -> Web -> HTML Files -> Editor -> Inline Elements.

Eclipse: "No repository found containing ..." when install update

I got following errors when installing the update:
An error occurred while collecting items to be installed
session context was:(profile=epp.package.jee, phase=org.eclipse.equinox.internal.p2.engine.phases.Collect, operand=, action=).
No repository found containing: osgi.bundle,org.eclipse.team.svn,0.7.9.I20110318-1700
No repository found containing: osgi.bundle,org.eclipse.team.svn.core,0.7.9.I20110523-1700
No repository found containing: osgi.bundle,org.eclipse.team.svn.help,0.7.9.I20110318-1700
No repository found containing: osgi.bundle,org.eclipse.team.svn.mylyn,0.7.9.I20110318-1700
No repository found containing: osgi.bundle,org.eclipse.team.svn.ui,0.7.9.I20110523-1700
No repository found containing: org.eclipse.update.feature,org.eclipse.team.svn,0.7.9.I20110523-1700
No repository found containing: org.eclipse.update.feature,org.eclipse.team.svn.mylyn,0.7.9.I20110523-1700
No repository found containing: org.eclipse.update.feature,org.eclipse.team.svn.resource.ignore.rules.jdt,0.7.9.I20110523-1700


It because of some package missing dependency (i dont know why).

Solution is:

1. Go to: Window -> Preferences -> Install/Update -> Available Software Sites.

2. Uncheck update sites one by one then perform update to find out where is that missing dependency package come from.

With each update site cause problem, do steps 3, 4 and 5:

3. Copy update site url and remove update site from "Available Software Sites" window.

4. Go to: Help -> Install New Software.

5. Put copied url into "Work with" field and click "Add" -> click "Ok" when eclipse ask for name -> close window.

6. After all, perform update again.

Eclipse: Exclude folder from validation

Eclipse version: Neon.3 Release (4.6.3)

1. Right click on project name in "Project Explorer" -> select "Properties".

2. Select "Validation" -> check "Enable project specific settings".

3. Click setting in which type of validation that need to exclude from.

4. In new popup, click "Add Exclude Group" -> click "Add Rule".

5. Select "Folder or file name".

6. Click "Browse Folder" -> select folder inside current project to exclude.

7. After all, we need to clean project to take effect.

Note that some time validation type will auto unchecked columns "Manual" and "Build" in validator list window at step 2, so we need to check it again.

Eclipse: Tomcat integration

1. Download and install tomcat

You can either install tomcat or use portable versions from http://tomcat.apache.org/.

2. Create tomcat runtime environment

Open eclipse (we use eclipse java EE) and go to: Window -> Preferences -> Server -> Runtime Environments then click "Add".


Select tomcat version to fit with your installed tomcat (for example with tomcat 8.0.41 we select "Apache Tomcat v8.0") then click "Next".


Browse to your tomcat installed folder (or portable version folder).


Click "Finish".

3. Set runtime environment for project

This step is not for project runing but for fix some problems like "The superclass "javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet" was not found on the Java Build Path".
Right click on your project and select Properties -> Targeted Runtimes then select tomcat runtime that we created above.


Click "Ok".

4. Create server and add project to run

Go to Window -> Show View -> Servers to open server tab.


Click link to create new server. Select runtime environment created above and click "Next".


Add your project to server and click "Finish".


Right click on server and select "Start" to run.


View runing project on browser.